Old House MuseumBakewell Category Museums & Galleries, Historic Sites
The history of the House goes back to 1534, and in its early days it was the home of a tax (or tithe) collector for the Gell family.
Changes were made, the house was extended and changed owners, and eventually it became a farmhouse.
By the late 18th century, Richard Arkwright had opened one of his early water powered mills in Bakewell at Lumford. He was looking for accommodation for his mill workers, and bought the Old House to convert into cottages. The House grew more and more neglected over the years, and eventually the cottages were condemned.
The Bakewell and District Historical Society was formed to save the building in 1954, and have developed the House as a Museum since then.
One cottage was lived in until 1967!
The House is a fascinating exhibit in itself, because of its history and development.
The Museum is still run by a dedicated group of volunteers who play many vital roles in its success. Most come to the Museum through the Historical Society (LINK), and help with wardening, displays and conservation.
[ - oldhousemuseum.org.uk]